MBA Mommy

Part MBA, Part MRS, Part MOM…..All ME

Back in the saddle

Posted by mbamommy on June 10, 2009

Last night I attended my first Triangle AMA networking event.  It’s been a while since I’ve been to an event like that: meeting new people and discussing Marketing/Careers/Life.  Because I’ve worked remotely for so long, I’m usually in my t-shirt & shorts with a headset on when discussing Marketing/Careers/Life.  Needless to say, I was a little nervous going in.  I kept trying to get psyched up by reminding myself that it’s not like I’m going to walk in there and people start throwing rotten tomatoes laughing (unless I have baby schmootz somewhere on me).  I mean, this is a networking event.  People are there to meet people.  So, I checked for baby schmootz, re-applied lipstick, grabbed my business cards (btw, if you need free business cards, check out www.vistaprint.com – they’re FANTASTIC!) and got out of the car.

I left the night with several new business cards; half from other job seekers and half from local marketing professionals. No one was looking for new employees but everyone was ready to bend over backwards offering to help in any way they could (both the job seekers and the gainfully employed).  I was thoroughly pleased and happy with the event.  Members are incredibly friendly (this is the South afterall), intelligent and fun to chat with.

Frankly, it was such a treat to be out at night, dressed up, no baby schmootz and speaking with other professionals, I could’ve cared less if anyone was hiring.  I’ll definitely be attending more events in the coming months.

Leave a Reply

 
