MBA Mommy

Part MBA, Part MRS, Part MOM…..All ME

Interesting article about “work-life” balance

Posted by mbamommy on July 22, 2009

JC sent me this article the other day and I finally got around to reading it today.

I think it’s interesting and poses some thought-provoking questions.  From what I gather, Ms. Riley’s conclusion is that we (as women trying to be Mom, Mrs, and MBA all rolled into one) are thinking too much about our lives and questioning ourselves.  She says there’s been an influx of women writing & blogging about how busy our lives are, about the minutiae of our schedules and how juggling so many different responsibilities is so challenging.  She even sites studies that show we’re more unhappy now with all our freedom “from domestic drudgery” and “control over fertility” than 35 years ago.  Well, 35 years ago, Valium prescriptions were rampant (Mother’s Little Helper).

Honestly? I was surprised when I realized the article was written by a woman.

For me, I know I’ll be happier once I’m back at work, where I have a balance between family and professional responsibilities.  For me, it’s a matter of “too much of a good thing” and “all things in moderation”.  I love my kids with all my heart but I’ll be a better Mom if I have some time away.  And, I very much want to pursue my career, but I know I’ll be happier working if I have something outside of it that I’m passionate about.  And, as the saying goes, “If Mama ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happy”.

Frankly, my only hesitation about going back to work was Petite Syrah.  JC and I agreed that it would be ideal to have her at home with me until she’s 1 year and/or walking.  But, for RunZMC, I’m convinced that it would be better for him to have the daily interaction of a day care.  I just don’t have it in me to entertain a 2.5 yr old all day long.  I’m not built that way.  My hat goes off to all the SAHM’s out there who love what they do.  Seriously, I respect the hell out of you.  The good news?  Petite Syrah is coming up on 11 mos and took her first step last week.  So, as frustrating as this “Great Recession” is, it’s allowed/forced me to do what I think is best for my baby girl.

Back to the article: I’ve found that talking to other Moms, whether it be reading blogs, going to Mom’s groups, baby-related emails, Facebook postings, or phone calls to my new-Mom girlfriends to be enormously cathartic.  It makes me sane and reminds me I’m not alone in this (a major reason why I started this blog).  So, while I did enjoy reading Ms. Riley’s take on “Work and Life — and Blogging the balance”, I think we’ll have to agree to disagree.  I think it’s a good thing there’s so many voices out there.  If you don’t like it, don’t read it.

Oh, and by the way, I grudgingly agree with Jack Welch’s comment:

” There’s no such thing as work-life balance.  There are work-life choices and you make them, and they have consequences.”

For better or worse, I’m a living consequence of that.

Leave a Reply

 
