MBA Mommy

Part MBA, Part MRS, Part MOM…..All ME

Groundhog Day

Posted by mbamommy on September 29, 2009

About 6 weeks ago, I found myself comparing my life to the movie, Groundhog Day.  I felt like I couldn’t tell one day from the next; they all seemed the same.  Wake up, make breakfast, get the kids up, drop RunZMC off at “camp”, Petite Syrah down for a nap, search for jobs, Petite Syrah wakes up, pick RunZMC up from “camp”, make lunch, both kiddos down for a nap, search for jobs, kiddos wake up, go to a mall to play because it’s so damn hot in NC in August, home for dinner, JC home from work, bath, bedtime, DVR and chardonnay.  The only variation was which mall we went to and when and how much each kid whined.

Not terrible, right?  It’s exactly what I signed up to do as a SAHM (just remove the job search stuff and add a little housework).  True, it wasn’t bad, it was just…..Monotonous.  And, I hate Monotony.  I’m one of those odd birds that thrives on Change.  Give me a comfortable, reliable situation and I guarantee I’ll figure out something to Change.

I was going to blog about it, but, as typically happens when things start to become Monotonous….Change happened.  You may have noticed that this Change coincides with my self-inflicted blog sabbatical.  Not a chance occurence, I assure you.

As is the case with Change, it’s chaotic in the process but eventually ends up for the better.  First, we got new countertops in our kitchen…which, of course, led to weeks of other work, including new lights, new cooktop, new sink, an enormous mess and many more days without a kitchen than I planned for.  JC came home one day when it was all done and said “Well, that wasn’t too disruptive.”  He almost turned to stone with the look I gave him.

Shortly following that fiasco (sorry, “home improvement project”), the job search started heating up.  All of a sudden, instead of having to pound on the door only to realize I’m actually pounding on a brick wall, people started wanting to talk to me.  Me?  L’il ol’ me?  Oh, how you jest.  But, it was true!  There happened to be a (small) handful of AMAZING companies that actually wanted me get my toe wedged into their door frame.  I was so excited I almost forgot that it’s a fairly herculean effort for me to leave the house by myself anymore.  I (rightly) assumed that these AMAZING companies didn’t offer free childcare for interviewees so I scrambled to cover my bases and to guarantee I left the house with no baby schmootz on me.  It worked, I interviewed, and I’m going to interview some more soon. (How AMAZING is that?!?)

Then came the beginning of school.  Or, as I dubbed it, FLU-ool.  Run ZMC was in class for a week when he brought our house down.  And, of course, this coincided nicely with our first trip out to Colorado to visit the g’rent’s for Rosh Hashanah.  My poor little Petite Syrah….snotty, off schedule, ears clogged, 7k+ feet elevation, and the only familiar things are big bro (off playing with the g’rents and charming the hell out of them), Mama (sick as a dog herself) and Bunny (which was only available in a strange Pack n Play).  Have I mentioned we don’t travel much?  There’s a reason for it – these kids are extra tough when they get off their nap schedules.  Granted, I’m guessing if I wasn’t such a stickler for their naptime, they may be more flexible to new situations.  But, man, how would I survive without their naps?  No Mommy-Needs-a-Break time?  No job search time?  Unheard of. 

But, I digress. 

Now that this Change is over, I have a beautiful kitchen, I have some exciting job leads, we’re all healthy and I’m back to Groundhog Day.  I’m torn over which I truly prefer: Change or Monotony.  On one hand, Change makes the days go quicker.  On the other hand, Monotony makes the days go slower.  I’m guessing there’s a happy medium somewhere out there…..and I’m guessing I’ll find it in the next Change.  I know I’m going to look back on this time spent with my babies fondly and yearn for mellower times when life is moving at warp speed.  And, I know I need to be careful with what I wish for, things somehow have a way of happening.

The good news?  The self-imposed sabbatical is officially over. LET THE BLOGGING (re) BEGIN!

2 Responses to “Groundhog Day”

  1. It seems like you have a hectic life like a lot of moms. I noticed you send your kids to camp; that is a great way for mom’s to get some ‘mom time’ and for kids to have fun with their friends.

  2. Diana said

    MBA Mommy,

    I’m an NYU Stern graduate, class of 2008. I recently launched a community for all of us (MBA Moms) to get together, share stoires, build relationship, establish business connections…

    I’d love for you to join:

    http://www.TopMBAMom.com

    and to become a fan on facebook:

    http://www.Facebook.com/TopMBAMom

Leave a Reply

 
