MBA Mommy

Part MBA, Part MRS, Part MOM…..All ME

Waiting for my real life

Posted by mbamommy on September 30, 2009

I’ve had lots of favorite bands in my life.  I’ve even had lots of favorite genres.  I went through the glam rock phase, the grunge phase, the classic rock phase (for my age group, that means Zeppelin, Pink Floyd and The Doors), the punk rock phase, the hippie phase, the Top 40 phase, the classical phase and the rave phase.  But, at the end of the day, I’d have to say that my reigning favorite musician is Colin Hay, former lead singer of Men At Work turned solo artist.

Why?  Well, there’s lots of reasons.  First, he has an amazing, distinctive voice.  Second, his songs and lyrics have some meat to them. Third, and most importantly, his music, one song in particular, seems to keep coming back to me over the years. 

I was first introduced to his music by an ex-boyfriend – probably the best takeaway from that relationship.  Boyfriend X played the song “Waiting For My Real Life to Begin” when I was getting ready to go to b-school in Michigan and leave him behind in Boston.  It became an anthem for that life Change and my impending breakup with Boyfriend X.  See, he wanted me to stay with him and I was waiting for my real life to begin.

Later, I introduced Colin Hay to JC.  He fell in love with the music as well.  His defining moment with the song was during Run ZMC’s birth.  Here’s an excerpt from that story:

The doctor came in and went over some last minute instructions with us. Then her beeper goes off, and she stepped out to check on another patient. The nurse followed, then returned and informed us that another mother-to-be requires and emergency delivery. So, we are now on hold, lying in bed, lights off, locked and loaded. We wait. Exhausted, Rebecca’s eyes are weary but open. I tried reading a book my boss gave me, knowing full well that whatever I read will be lost in a matter of hours. My mind drifted off to the song we heard earlier that day, and I realize how it now applies to us:

Any minute now,
My ship is coming in.
I keep searching the horizon ….
I’m waiting for my real life to begin.

When I was on maternity leave with Run ZMC, I’d feed him while watching DVR’d eposides of Scrubs.  The length of the show was perfectly timed with how long it took him to finish a bottle.  I was a huge Scrubs fan already….and it solidified one day when I saw this scene.  Colin Hay on Scrubs?  A full, sleeping baby?  This newly minted MBA Mommy couldn’t have been happier.

Later still, the song became a theme song for my brother and his wife’s wedding.  Granted, I’m not sure it was appropriate, given they knew the story of Run ZMC AND it’s not a very romantic, wedding-esque song, but up it went onto their wedding website.

And now the song comes to mind again as I prepare myself for my next big life Change (whenever that may be).  For some reason, I keep waiting for my real life: the next big thing, the next Change, the next challenge, the next opportunity.  When I was thinking about this blog entry, I started a mental checklist of everything I’ve accomplished in my 34 years on this earth.  High School? check. College? check. Traveled through Europe, Middle East, Australia and New Zealand? check. check. check. check. Partied my way through my 20’s? check. Master’s degree? check. Launched my career? check. Married the love of my life? check. 2 Kids? 1 Dog? 2 Cars? Suburban House? Picket Fence? check. check. check. check. check.  OK…so what’s next on the list?  Ah, yes, re-focus on my career….

And then it hit me.  I need to stop waiting for my real life because this IS my real life.  And it’s pretty damn good.  Colin’s words, yet again an anthem in my life.

WAITING FOR MY REAL LIFE TO BEGIN
Album : “Going Somewhere”
(written by: Colin Hay / Thom Mooney)
Colin Hay

Any minute now, my ship is coming in
I’ll keep checking the horizon
I’ll stand on the bow, feel the waves come crashing
Come crashing down down down, on me

And you say, be still my love
Open up your heart
Let the light shine in
But don’t you understand
I already have a plan
I’m waiting for my real life to begin

When I awoke today, suddenly nothing happened
But in my dreams, I slew the dragon
And down this beaten path, and up this cobbled lane
I’m walking in my old footsteps, once again
And you say, just be here now
Forget about the past, your mask is wearing thin
Let me throw one more dice
I know that I can win
I’m waiting for my real life to begin

Any minute now, my ship is coming in
I’ll keep checking the horizon
And I’ll check my machine, there’s sure to be that call
It’s gonna happen soon, soon, soon
It’s just that times are lean

And you say, be still my love
Open up your heart, let the light shine in
Don’t you understand
I already have a plan
I’m waiting for my real life to begin

 

And, just for fun, here’s a link to my favorite Dr. Cox rant.

3 Responses to “Waiting for my real life”

  1. Not a whole lot to add here, but that is a great song. It’s amazing how great Colin Hay is, if you can get past the Men at Work days. And even Men at Work isn’t that bad…I’ve got an acoustic version of “Overkill” that’s phenomenal.

  2. Suz said

    I love a good Dr Cox rant!! 😉

  3. […] flying home from a CLIENT pitch with my new CO-WORKERS and listening to Colin Hay’s “Waiting For My Real Life” and I decided to play a little game.  I challenged myself to listen to the whole song.  I […]

Leave a Reply

 
