MBA Mommy

Part MBA, Part MRS, Part MOM…..All ME

Staying ahead of the curve

Posted by mbamommy on October 10, 2009

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m not a first adopter of new technology.  I typically wait for the 2nd or 3rd iteration because by then the cost and the kinks have diminished.  Plus, I can learn from other’s successes and failures.

For example, I started this blog about 6 months ago.  I created a Twitter account (@mbamrsmom) and bought a CrackBerry around the same time.  And, I’ve been using Facebook and LinkedIn for about a year.  I’d like to believe I have a handle on these channels of communication.  I am by NO means an expert, but I’ve dipped my toe in and found the water to be nice and warm.

So imagine my surprise when my daily email alerts (I know, email is so 2000) start making noise about Google Wave and Web 3.0.  Wave conversations: realtime feedback on your marketing successes and failures sounds amazing, but I’m a little lost on the How of it all.  And 3.0?  I think I’m still at 2.1.

How silly of me to think I was staying close to the curve.

I’m a firm believer that social media/marketing, along with all the other channels provided by technology: mobile, email, PPC, SEO, banner ads, websites, etc etc need to be communication channels that are part of a bigger marketing/branding/PR plan.  And which channels you choose needs to be dictated by where your customers are.  You could have the most amazing blog, tweet until your fingers fall off, and be #1 ranked on Google, Yahoo! and Bing but if your core customer only reads the sunday newspaper, you’re not speaking their language.  It all boils down to customer service; as does everything in MBA Mommy’s opinion.  Know who you’re talking to, make sure you’re offering is relevant, get in front of them and tell your story.  If you’re correct in your analysis of the situation, your marketing plan (and subsequent sales) should work.

But, I digress.  This post is about staying ahead of the curve….which I think is getting more and more difficult to do.  Google WaveGoogle Sidewiki3.0Augmented Reality?  *Oy Vey!*  The problem with staying ahead of the curve is we sometimes lose sight of where the curve began.  As essential as it is to stay on top of trends and opportunities, it’s equally important not to get too caught up in the Next Big Thing that promises to answer a marketer’s prayers: ROI, Analytics, one-to-one marketing (oh yeah…and SALES!) all wrapped up with a bow.  Know your customer and let *them* tell you which tools make the most sense.

Maybe I’m just getting old….

Leave a Reply

 
