MBA Mommy

Part MBA, Part MRS, Part MOM…..All ME

Mommy-hood changes everything

Posted by mbamommy on October 12, 2009

Wow, do I love when the g’rents are in town.  I actually had a chance to read my eMarketer daily email before noon today!  That’s a good thing considering the article I just finished….all about how Moms and women without children differ in their attitudes, likes and dislikes regarding online marketing.

OK….that’s not really mind blowing, right?  But once you read the article….ask yourself “Why?” it gets a little more interesting.  In summary, the article says Moms are more willing to receive promotions, coupons and discounts that pertain to their lifestyle while women without children didn’t want all that ‘stuff’ in their inbox.  In my opinion, that makes perfect sense.  As a woman without kids, I had more disposable income and more freedom with my time – so I could go out and buy things when and where I wanted.  As a Mom, not only is my disposable income less, my freedom is as well.  It’s much easier to do my shopping online and through my inbox than it is to drag 2 kids out to a store.  And, coupons, discounts, freebies rock – especially when they come right to me!

I’m just glad to see marketers paying more attention to women as a subsegment of the population and further subsegmenting that population to better target a group that has buying power.

Leave a Reply

 
