MBA Mommy

Part MBA, Part MRS, Part MOM…..All ME

Sabbatical….take 2

Posted by mbamommy on February 4, 2010

October 22, 2009…does that date mean anything to you?  It does to me.  It’s the last time I posted anything on this blog.  Did you give up on me?  I sure did. Until…

I was flying home from a CLIENT pitch with my new CO-WORKERS and listening to Colin Hay’s “Waiting For My Real Life” and I decided to play a little game.  I challenged myself to listen to the whole song.  I mean, really listen.  You know, focus on the words, direct all your attention onto one thing, quiet your mind, block everything out, yada, yada, yada…..and it took me 6 replays before I was able to do it.

And it dawned on me….I’ve got a s*^tload going on right now and I needed to start up my babble once again.  I figure, if I can release some of the *stuff* going on in my head, it may make it easier to focus on the various responsibilities that make up my day.  Granted, this could be considered just one more thing I need to do on a pile of things I’m having difficulty keeping up with already, but I’m a heckuva a multitasker.  Case in point: I’m sitting at my desk typing this up while shoveling the salad that I picked up at the grocery store while buying cupcakes for RunZMC’s 3rd bday party tommorrow on my lunch break into my mouth during the 10 minutes of downtime I have before my next meeting……..huh?.  Besides, I miss writing.

So…did you notice anything in the previous paragraphs?  That’s RIGHT, I have a JOB!  Not just a job but a really AMAZING job with an AMAZING online marketing agency working with AMAZING people on some really AMAZING projects.  You’re probably thinking it’s called AMAZING advertising or something, right?  Not quite….it’s called Brooks Bell Interactive and you can learn all about it here:  www.brooksbell.com.  I’m the Director of Client Strategy which is just about the most perfect role I could imagine.  I work with 2 fantastic account teams on creating the strategy and deliverables for a variety of different clients.  I think the best 2 aspects of my job are (1) I really like managing people and (2) I really like not being on the frontlines anymore.  I’m digging the whole, “What do you think about this idea?  OK, let’s flesh it out….ok, show me how you’d go about doing it”. 🙂

So, while I’ve been on a multi-month sabbatical, it doesn’t mean I’ve been completely out of touch.  And, I’m re-committing to MBAMommy.  Here I go…..again…..

One Response to “Sabbatical….take 2”

  1. […] I got an offer from BBI for a Director position that was an amazing fit.  I mentioned it back here.  It was a quick transition; Brooks called me on a Monday and my first day was the following […]

Leave a Reply

 
