MBA Mommy

Part MBA, Part MRS, Part MOM…..All ME

Guess Who’s Coming To Dinner?

Posted by mbamommy on May 7, 2010

A tale of two restaurants….

Restaurant #1: Twisted Fork

Background: This restaurant is about 10 minutes from our house, ranked #1 in the Triangle for Kid Friendly by City Search and a family favorite.  We even had a particular booth we always asked for (in the back, semi-private and difficult for the kiddies to run loose).

One Sunday, JC, RunZMC, Petite Syrah and I head over for brunch.  We LOVE their Sunday brunch.  JC and I both got omelets and the kids shared pancakes.  Less than 10 hours later, JC and I are taking turns worshiping the porcelain goddess and feeling achy all over.  We double check with some friends who we had dinner the previous night? Nope, they’re fine. And, brunch is the only thing we had eaten that day.  Hmmm….looks like food poisoning.

On Monday, I called Twisted Fork and spoke to the Manager.  I told him the situation.  My main concern was to let him know that something was wrong with his eggs just in case anyone else calls….and, maybe he should make sure to throw that batch out.  Honestly?  That was it.  I just didn’t want anyone else to go through what we had gone through the night before.

Mistake #1: his first question was, “Is that what the doctor diagnosed”?  (no, you dummy, I’ve been too busy throwing up to go to a doctor’s!)

Mistake #2: he goes on to say that no one else had complained. (that’s cause they’re too busy throwing up!)

Mistake #3: he offered to give me a gift card for the amount we paid. (do you really think I want to eat at your restaurant again?!?)

Success #1: he offered to refund our full meal

BIG FAT MISTAKE: I never heard an apology or sympathy for my pain.  I *may* have gone back if I had heard him say “I’m so sorry that happened”.

Here’s some stats for you:

  • Approximate frequency of dining: 2x/month for 3 years.
  • Average bill: $50
  • Estimated amount of $ we spent there: $3600
  • Estimated LTV? Over $10k
  • Cost of refund: $44

But, alas, we now need to find a new favorite family restaurant…..which leads to….

Restaurant #2: Nantucket Grill

Background: This restaurant is 2 minutes from home and only recently opened.  JC and I decided to check it out on a date night a few months ago and loved it. Why?  It was reasonably priced, good food, good ambiance.  We just bellied up to the bar and talked for hours.  OK, I lied…that’s not why we (I) loved it.  Every Saturday night, they give out FREE CAKE. What?!?  FREE CAKE? I’m sold.

One night, a couple weeks ago when the g’rents were in town, we ordered in.  When the food came, two of the meals were incomplete and mine tasted terrible.

Success #1: the first time I called to tell them the order was incomplete, they apologized and offered either a free side or a free piece of cake next time we came in…just give my name to the manager, they made a note of it.

Success #2: the next time I called to let them know the food was inedible (waaayyyy too salty), they apologized again and said the next meal was on them.

Success #3: the next time I ordered for pickup, I mentioned my name, the manager gave me my food, apologized again for the inconvenience, chatted for a couple minutes and held the door for me on my way out.

And, some more stats:

  • Approximate frequency of dining: 1x/month for 3 months (future frequency? 2x/month)
  • Average bill: $50
  • Estimated amount of $ we spent there: $150
  • Estimated LTV? Over $10k
  • Cost of refund: $30

Guess Who’s Coming To Dinner?

2 Responses to “Guess Who’s Coming To Dinner?”

  1. It’s amazing that in this day and age, the guy at TF didn’t know to apologize right away. Wow. Loving your blog posts, keep it up!

    • mbamommy said

      Thanks, Tia! I know…I’m assuming it was a mental lapse on his part. Makes me think about how many lawsuits could be avoided if people just said “I’m sorry”. But, no one wants to take responsibility….ah well. I bet that would never happen at your restaurant (http://eatatmarket.com/)!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
