MBA Mommy

Part MBA, Part MRS, Part MOM…..All ME

You Never Get A Second Chance….

Posted by mbamommy on May 12, 2010

To Make Good A First Impression.

Or so the saying goes.

I politely disagree.  Maybe it’s just me, but do you really truly base all your assumptions of a person’s character on that first 5 minutes you meet them?  I don’t.  Frankly, half the time, I’m so overloaded with trying to take everything in about that new person I don’t know what I think.  And, if I do, inevitably I find I’m wrong.

For example, the first time I met JC was during orientation at b-school.  We had just come in from some outdoor team building and everyone was kind of sweaty and gross.  JC in particular.  He sat next to me and we chatted but all I could think of was “Seems ok, but how do I get away from this guy’s sweaty leg?  Gross.”  Granted, the sweaty thing hasn’t changed much but if I hadn’t afforded him the opportunity to make a second first impression, my life would be drastically different right now (and NOT for the better, I assure you).

Another example, when I first met my best friend, I only knew of her through her reputation of being opinionated, loud-mouthed and ‘rough around the edges’.  And, that our mutual acquaintance wasn’t a fan.  But, I decided to give her a chance and come to my own conclusions.  The result?  Yes, she’s opinionated, loud-mouthed and ‘rough around the edges’.  But that’s just the tip of the iceberg.  She’s also FUN, thoughtful, caring, has a huge heart, is a wonderful wife and mother and the most solid friend I’ve ever had.  So, again, if I had stopped at the first impression, my life would not be as rich.

Oh, and the mutual acquaintance?  Neither of us have spoken to her in years.

What about you?  What do you think?

One Response to “You Never Get A Second Chance….”

  1. […] You Never Get A Second Chance…. May 2010 4 […]

Leave a Reply

 
