MBA Mommy

Part MBA, Part MRS, Part MOM…..All ME

Mid Year Check-In

Posted by mbamommy on July 5, 2010

In our house, New Year’s Resolutions are a big deal.  JBC is a big fan of underdogs, of new beginnings, of starting overs….of hope.  He was also born on December 31st, so New Year’s has always been pretty significant for him (and myself for the past 8 years).  Of course it’s fun to have an extra reason to make New Year’s special, whether it’s a quiet night with just the 2 of us or a raging celebration in Chicago or a night out with friends in Aspen, but what I find most memorable are the resolutions.  These are a really big deal in our house.  We write them down on cocktail napkins, pin them up on bulletin boards and remember them throughout the year….trying to resolve to do them.  Most of the time mine are pretty typical: “take more time for friends”, “exercise more”, “eat better”, yada yada yada.

But not for 2010.  For 2010, I had a plan.  I had read somewhere that if you break up a goal into ‘bite-size’ pieces and focus on one thing at a time, it’s more likely to occur.  And, if you assign specific, tangible results, it’s easier to see things happen.  And, if you reward yourself for those small wins, it’s more likely to stick.  So, that’s exactly what I did.  I decided on a theme that encapsulated what I wanted to accomplish and then broke it down into buckets of what goal each initiative would address and kept track of the results.  I then further broke those down into monthly goals with appropriate rewards.  The end result would be a happier, healthier MBA Mommy and my big reward would be to get the tattoo I’ve been thinking about for years.

Want to know what the plan looks like?

MBAMommy’s 2010 New Year’s Resolutions

Theme: “ Healthy & Balanced”



OK….I’m not doing so hot.  Not only haven’t I accomplished any of my monthly goals, I’m still exactly the same as when I started.  I’m going to give myself a little credit because this has been an enormously difficult year so far.  I’ll get into all that in another post, but in a nutshell, I’m no longer working, RunZMC is having some difficulties that require a huge amount of focus, and our house is for sale.  Enough stressors for you?!


So….instead of beating myself up too much on all this, I’m going to revise my goals.  Hey, I’ve still got 6 months to achieve them and get my tattoo.  Here’s what the new and improved resolutions look like.

Theme: “ Healthy and Balanced”

What were your resolutions?  How is your resolve? How do you stay motivated?

One Response to “Mid Year Check-In”

  1. So true! I read your entry in hysterical laughter for a few reasons. One – we make a big deal about new year’s resolutions as well – I think I still have the ones from 2005 on! I just went to the fridge to find my 2010 resolutions (which I haven’t looked at in many months!). While I didn’t put metrics in place for most of the goals – I have to give myself credit and share that I’ve actually been making good headway on many of them. So Yay! for me – I thought I was going to have totally missed the mark. hang in there – glad to see you are adjusting for life and not being hard on yourself (I did love how your original goal was 2 drinks per week, and it’s changed to no more than 1 per night. I also liked the dessert shift!).

Leave a Reply

 
