MBA Mommy

Part MBA, Part MRS, Part MOM…..All ME

The Beauty of “Because I Said So”

Posted by mbamommy on July 12, 2010

I used to hate when my parents answer to my pleading and questioning was, “Because I said so.”  It was SO frustrating.  Now that I’m on the flip side, I’m realizing how much power and beauty those 4 little words hold.  Wanna know why?  Because you can’t argue with it.  It’s not logical, you can’t negotiate.  There’s no wiggle room.  It just is.

It reminds me of a saying my high school girlfriends and I had.  We always wanted to use the following break up line on a boy.  I don’t think any of us ever had the guts to do it, but it has as much power and beauty as “Because I Said So”.  And, as much frustration for the receiver.  Here it is:

“I hate you, just deal.”

You can’t argue with it.  It’s not logical, you can’t negotiate.  There’s no wiggle room.  It just is.

What about you?  Any “gems” that can end an argument in 10 words or less?

8 Responses to “The Beauty of “Because I Said So””

  1. N. Frances Moritz said

    For the inevitable “I hate you!” from the kid… “I love you too.” 🙂

  2. The parentism that made me madder than even “because I said so” when I was little was, “Well, life’s not fair. Live with it.” In my adulthood, I realize it’s true. Sucky, but true.

  3. Brooke said

    My BossLady would always come back with “It’s a learning experience.” Irritated me to bits. But she was right. And I use it quite often myself now.
    And my DAd has for years said “It builds character.” Whether he was teasing us or pointing out mistakes or hugging us. Now that is a gem!

    • mbamommy said

      My Dad always used to say, “It’s good for you. It’ll put hair on your chest.” What does that mean?!? And, why would I want hair on my chest!?! Grrr…..

  4. I just say, “And, that’s final!” The kids know I mean business then~

  5. A colleague once told me that he promised his kids (now teens) he wouldn’t ever say “Because I said so” and they couldn’t say “I don’t know” – I thought it was brilliant and hope I can implement that in my home! For the toddlers, I find myself saying “No, it’s not safe and here’s why…” or the almost fail-proof distraction!

Leave a Reply

 
