MBA Mommy

Part MBA, Part MRS, Part MOM…..All ME

Rent

Posted by mbamommy on July 23, 2010

Before I get into this post, I’d like to express my extreme gratitude to everyone who’s read my blog.  And even more gratitude to all of you who’ve reached out to me either here or otherwise.  Your response is overwhelming and it makes me so happy I decided to write about our little Z-man.  It’s enormously therapeutic for me, especially knowing there’s so much love and support out there.  So, thanks.  And, please keep reading. 🙂

I need to take a brief break from telling our Asperger’s saga to thank J for being an ah-ma-zing hubby.  I mentioned I recently celebrated the 10th anniversary of my 25th birthday, right?  Well, I didn’t do the post script.  You see, around here, birthday’s aren’t just one day.  Especially when what you *really* want to do on your bday is only an option a couple weeks later.

See, I have an obsession with Rent.  Seriously, I *heart* Rent.  I honestly can’t get enough of the music.  I’ve seen it 5 or 6 times and have a tendency to listen to the soundtrack on repeat.  I think if I could marry it I would (sorry, J).  The good news is, J is *almost* as obsessed with it as I am….probably by osmosis….I’m a little leaky.

Aaaaannnnnyyyywwwwwaaaaayyyy.  The day Rent shut down on Broadway was indeed a sad day in our household.  I think I cried, but I could be making that up for effect.  But, it was sad nonetheless.  So, imagine my surprise when I heard an ad for it on the radio here in Raleigh, NC.  Really?!?  How could that be?  Who cares!  Let’s go see it!

“J, I know what I want for my bday.  And the whip cream on top would be if you planned the entire night out: babysitter, dinner, tickets, etc.”

Well, folks, my man came through.  Which was such a nice gift.  We always have wonderful date nights and he usually agrees with whatever I plan but he rarely takes the initiative in planning things.  Granted, that’s probably because I’ve wet-noodle beaten him into submission:

“J, what do you want to eat tonight?”  “

I dunno, MBA Mommy, what would you like?”

“No, honey, I don’t care.  you decide.”

“Ok, how about sushi?”

“Hmmm….I was thinking more of ordering a pizza.”.

Seriously, why do I even bother asking him if I already know the answer.  BUT, when it really matters, he knows how to deliver (ask me to post my engagement story sometime…..it’ll make the ladies swoon and the men complain they’ve got big shoes to fill).

But, I digress.

So, last Saturday night, as he planned, the babysitter showed up promptly at 5pm (us old folk get an early start for our big nights out).  I get dressed up in a cute dress and shoes and as we were walking out to the car…..huh?  J, why is there a big black van parked in our driveway? Oh, why, it’s your friendly neighborhood Gary-I Gotcha Taxi, of course.  Triangle peeps, this guy is AWESOME.  His FB tagline is, “YOU DRANK I DRIVE”.  He’s an upscale taxi service with a KARAOKE machine inside complete with strobe lights in sync with the music.  Best of all?  They have a license that allows you to have an open container.

OK, I’ll admit it.  We’re not *exactly* his target market.  I think he spends a lot more time around UNC, Duke and NC State campuses than up in the ‘burbs where we live….but how cool is that?  J not only planned this wonderful evening for us but he threw in a fun little surprise.

So, off to dinner at Second Empire we went with our mini-bottles of wine in hand (W.T., I know), where we had a fabulous dinner complete with Cakebread Chardonnay (my fav and too rich for daily consumption) and chocolate cake (see previous parentheses).  Then, back to our car service and off to the show.

Soooo…….the show.  Rent.  My favorite.  The show I can sing along to just about every word and I cry at almost every song.  Why, because it’s sad?  No, because the music gives me goosebumps (I cry when I get goosebumps?  Huh?).

The show was amazing, although I think the show would be amazing if I was watching The Chipmunks perform it (haha, just had a mental image of Alvin singing Maureen’s “Over the Moon”).  The music was the same.  The stage was the same.  The singing?  The dancing?  Well, I think it left a little to be desired.  I thought JoAnn, Maureen, Collins and Mark did a wonderful job.  But, I thought Roger, Mimi and Benny were lacking.  True, Roger and Mimi are huge shoes to fill but they’re also very important shoes.  And, Angel did a great job dancing but his voice just wasn’t there.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining.  And I wasn’t disappointed in the slightest.  Both J and I simply noticed that we weren’t watching Broadway, that’s all.

Wanna know the best part?  J and I.  As far as we were concerned, we were the only ones in the world.  Well….us and Gary-I Gotcha.  With everything going on in our lives it’s truly wonderful to be able to escape with your plus 1 for a night and remember why you married them in the first place.

One Response to “Rent”

  1. Erica said

    “Love is in the air” I know it’s not from Rent, but it’s still appropriate.

Leave a Reply

 
