MBA Mommy

Part MBA, Part MRS, Part MOM…..All ME

Homecoming

Posted by mbamommy on September 16, 2010

Sorry for the 5 week cliff hanger, y’all, but there’s good reason for it.  See we moved.

Go Broncos!

Not just around the corner, not just down the street…half way across the country….TO DENVER!!!!! Whooo hoooo!!!!  Now, if you didn’t know this, I went to undergrad at CU Boulder.  I’ve been coming to Colorado in the winter and summer since I was a little kid and I started my career in a ski town.  So, for me, this truly was coming home.  We’re closer to family, in a bigger city, J’s got a better/more fitting job and the kids have a whole city to explore in great weather.  Even little A, our resident furball, is enjoying the lack of humidity and cooler temps.

So, here we are.  We’ve been here for about 2 weeks.  We’re renting in a great location near J’s work and in a good school district for Z until we can sell our house and then we’ll start thinking about where we’d like to buy.  And then, we’re never moving again.  Stick a fork in me, I’m done.

To say the move was intense is to put it lightly.  J got the job offer and started 3 weeks later.  During that timeframe, I flew out to Denver, found a place to rent, met with school special ed teams and service providers for Z.  All in, I drove over 300 miles, saw almost 20 rentals, had multiple meetings and multiple glasses of wine all in 3 days.  Then, it was back to NC to pack up the house.  Now, when I say pack up, I’m talking about a 4 part pack.  The first part occured in the beginning of the summer when we put our house on the market.  I “de-cluttered” and “de-personalized” the house so it showed well.  The items I packed I needed to assume I wouldn’t see for at least a year or more.  Stage 2 was packing everything we needed to put in a truck and bring out to Denver.  This had to be stuff that I’d need within the next year but not need for the next 2 weeks.  So, things like toys, clothes, kitchen supplies, etc etc.  Then the truck came and we were left with enough clothes to last for a week, 1 pan, 1 pot and plastic plates & utensils (the eco conscience in me cringed the whole time).  Then, J left to drive the car and the dog out.  And I was left with 2 kids, no toys, no hubby for a week.  Stage 3 was packing all the stuff we were left with…excluding the furniture that was being left to stage the house.  Stage 4 comes when we sell the house and either J or I fly back to empty the house.

Phew!

Wanna know how we made it through?  Our Mom’s.  Seriously.  J’s mom flew out and helped him drive across country.  My mom flew out and stayed with the kiddos and me, flew to Denver with us and stayed a couple more days to help unpack.  I guess it’s true that a mother never rests.  I’d like to take a moment of silence to praise the s*#t out of our Moms.  I’m not sure how we would’ve done it without them.  I went to the airport with 5 bags, 2 car seats, 2 carry-ons and 2 napless kiddos.  How I would’ve managed that without an extra pair of arms?  No idea.  And, who, aside from a Mom would willingly offer to sit in a car for 3.5 days to drive cross country if they didn’t have to?!? Thank god for Moms.

Anyhoo….we’re here.  We’re unpacked.  Z’s in pre-k 4 days a week and a social skills group the 5th day.  I’m working on setting up a therapist to work with him in the afternoons.  So far, I’ve been extremely pleased with the services we’ve been working with.  The public school he’s in has a fabulous spec ed  team.  The support I’ve felt and the willingness to help of everyone I’ve spoken to here has been amazing.

The transition has been pretty rocky for everyone, especially Z.  But, he’s starting to pull it together.  S is thrilled she’s got her “Moppy” all to herself every morning when Z’s at school and both kids seem to think the Kids Club at the gym is ok, which means I get to workout. 🙂  I miss my friends in NC, I miss working and having more free time because the kiddos were in preschool all day but after 4 weeks of tough changes, things are smoothing out.

It feels good to be home.

2 Responses to “Homecoming”

  1. Gregory Ng said

    Congrats! So happy for you guys. We’ll miss you here in NC.

Leave a Reply

 
