MBA Mommy

Part MBA, Part MRS, Part MOM…..All ME

Normalcy

Posted by mbamommy on September 30, 2010

So, we’ve been here for about a month.  Things are slowly beginning to feel normal.  Sure, we do have our days (I had one yesterday), but I believe we are all starting to settle in and enjoy ourselves more.  I don’t have to use the GPS every time I get in the car and the kiddos are starting to ask for playgrounds by name.

And, the amount of errands I have to run are subsiding, which allows me to consider doing some more fun things with S while Z is in school in the mornings.  I happened to find a Groupon for the local Gymboree and thought that S may enjoy it.  I used to take Z to Gymboree before S was born and he really enjoyed it.  Granted, looking back now, it’s amazing to me how apparent the signs of Asperger’s were then…if we had just known enough.

But, I digress.  This post isn’t about Z, it’s about S.

We went to Gymboree this morning and she was in hog heaven.  I should preface this by saying she recently acquired a backpack (pink princess of course) because she kept wanting Z’s and we thought they should each have one.  This morning, before Gymboree, she tried to put the backpack in a cubby at Z’s school.  So, it’s readily apparent to me that she wants to go to some sort of school/class/kiddo interaction.

She was smiling, giggling, interacting with the adults, the kids, the puppets, the songs….everything (and everything Z never truly did at Gymboree).  I thoroughly enjoyed watching her enjoy herself so much.  But, I gotta admit, I felt a little like a fish out of water.  I mean, everything was so normal. Kids were playing…sometimes they needed to be redirected.  Moms were chatting, not hovering over their kids.  No one looked stressed….only a little bored if anything.

It made me realize how much both S and I need a little normalcy in our lives.  Where everything isn’t overshadowed by Z’s dominant personality and constant challenges.  I knew S loved running errands with me….she’d babble happily in the backseat, sometimes singing songs, sometimes *telling* me she’s happy.  So, I know she values the Moppy-time…..and I do too.  And it reaffirms my intentions to give her as much normalcy as her life will allow.  She loves her big bro so much and wants so much for him to be happy.  Wants so much for her Moppy to be happy.  It’s the least I can do for my little angel with a heart that’s bigger than her.

Leave a Reply

 
