MBA Mommy

Part MBA, Part MRS, Part MOM…..All ME

Knowing When to Say When

Posted by mbamommy on October 2, 2010

How much is too much?

That was a standard question for me in college.  Of course, it was usually answered the next morning with the phrase “Yep…that was too much” and it usually referred to being overserved at a party or bar.

These days, the question refers to information.  How much information is too much?  With the advent of the intertnet blogging, social media, etc you COULD tell anyone anything anytime.  But, how much SHOULD you put out there for everyone to see?

I’ve always been an open book…I have nothing to hide.  I’ve had my ups and downs.  I’ve had moments I’m not proud of and moments I’d like to exclaim to the world.  But, everything I’ve done has led me to who I am today.  For better or for worse, I am (as we all are) the sum total of our individual take on our own personal history.

But I’ve always been an open book face to face, with people I know.  I have no idea who’s reading this blog or what people are getting out of it.  If it’s good or bad, indifferent or not.  And I constantly wonder how much I should be putting out there.  I’ve noticed that the folks who bear their souls are the ones with the most readers and the most advertisers and sponsors.  I definitely noticed a HUGE spike in my readership when I got less business-esque and more personal with Z’s asperger’s diagnosis.  There’s definitely a bit of voyeurism at play….you get a sneak peak into other people’s lives and, of course, the juicer the better, right?

But, how do you know when you’ve crossed the line from baring your soul just enough to too much?

2 Responses to “Knowing When to Say When”

  1. Waila Caan said

    Hey. Just stumbled on your blog.
    Was asking myself the same question this morning. You’re spot on when you say that the more personal you get, the more people are interested. Guess you’ll have to be the judge of what you’re comfortable divulging. One thing is for sure, if you’re baring too much, people will let you know 🙂

    • mbamommy said

      Hi and thanks for stopping by! I guess great minds think alike, huh? 😉 Interesting about people letting you know. What if you’re getting mixed reviews?

Leave a Reply

 
