MBA Mommy

Part MBA, Part MRS, Part MOM…..All ME

I Hate It When He’s Right

Posted by mbamommy on August 2, 2011

I will never ever ever ever live this post down.  Ever. 

I have a brother, let’s call him Bubba (my kids do).  I love him to death, he’s one of my best friends (although I admit I probably like his wife a little more).  He’s always there for me, supportive, questioning, loving and fun.  He’s an amazing uncle and brother in law and I hate that I don’t live closer to him.  But, he’s also my big brother and my constant torturer.  To this day, (I’m 36 and he’s 38) he will still tease me relentlessly.  He still pulls the “Not touching…can’t get mad” crap that drove me insane when we were kids.  But, I guess that comes with sibling territory.

He also has this annoying habit of getting something in his head and absolutely running with it.  And then he’ll get on his soap box and lecture anyone who comes within 10 feet about what it is that he’s into…either the positives or negatives, depending on what he thinks.

On a rare occasion, my brother turns out to be right.  OK…..not a rare occasion….a semi-often-ok-I-grudgingly-admit-it-often occasion.  He’s a doc and my go to guy for anything kid related which certainly keeps my co-pays down and 1am trips to the ER at a bare minimum.

On this occasion, he was right about two things: Crossfit and Mark Sisson’s book, Primal Blueprint.

Now the only caveat I have about Crossfit is that I’m not currently doing it.  But, that’s only because I purchased a bunch of Groupon’s for a variety of workout classes (yoga, kettlebell, TRX) and I’m thoroughly enjoying them.  However, when they expire, I plan to join my neighborhood Crossfit box and get my a$$ kicked day after day.

If you haven’t heard of it, Crossfit is a type of workout that was created by in the military.  It’s extremely functional in nature.  It’s not long, drawn out cardio work but short intense interval training.  You lift heavy things.  You sprint.  You jump.  Sometimes you do them simultaneously.  It’s an amazing workout.  And an amazing community.  Folks who do Crossfit live and die by it.  Check out this awesome blogger, Andreanna,  to learn more about her experiences…she’s a total stud.

Oh, and my friend Sara?  She’s religious about Crossfit and after 3 kids has a 6-pack.  I’m not kidding, the girl is in ridonculously good shape.

As far as Mark Sisson and Primal Eating….well, that’s all about getting back to basics, eating the way we were genetically programmed to eat.  No grains, no breads, no crappy carbs.  Lots of good fats and proteins.  Even more importantly, eating things that aren’t filled with GMOs (genetically modified organisms) and don’t come from the other side of the world.  Eat local, eat healthy.  I was a total non-believer forever.  There was no way you were gonna get this girl to give up her crackers and cheese.

But then Bubba sent me (unsolicited I might add) The Primal Blueprint.  And, after I got over being incensed that he was STILL trying to tell me what to do, I decided to give it a shot.  I figured that with all these new things I was trying: meditation, exercising, etc etc I might as well try to clean up my eating.  The first week was awful.  I had a total carb hangover.  And then all of a sudden, I started feeling better.  I had more energy.  I slept better.  I didn’t have digestive issues (let’s just leave it at that).  I used to be tired all the time with really bad mood swings.  Now…well…I still have mood swings but they’re a lot more moderate.  And there are days when I can barely contain my energy.

What’s probably more interesting to me is that when  I “cheat” and let myself eat grains (read: pizza…my downfall) I feel terrible  the next day.  Sluggish, grumpy, stomach aches….it’s fascinating.

So….while I’m not 100% primal or 100% Crossfit, I’m pretty darn close to it and I have to thank Bubba for that.

Just….please….don’t tell him I said that?  Thanks, I’ll never hear the end of it.

3 Responses to “I Hate It When He’s Right”

  1. My friend from college is in training to be a CrossFit trainer for kids. She looks AMAZING!

  2. […] Living Primally […]

  3. […] I said I’d do it. […]

Leave a Reply

 
