MBA Mommy

Part MBA, Part MRS, Part MOM…..All ME

I’m A Bad Mom And Proud Of It

Posted by mbamommy on September 6, 2011

S turned 3 years old on Sunday.

And, because her bday is in the beginning of September and because it’s the beginning of the school year and she’s starting a new school, I thought it would be a good idea to invite her incoming class.  You know, a great way to meet people and kick of the year with a bang?  I had learned from past experience that having a party in our rental home is difficult and since September is by far the best month of the year in Colorado, I wanted to hold it at a local park/playground.

I also assumed (and we all know what assuming does, right?  Makes an ASS out of U and ME) that since it was Labor Day weekend, most folks I invited wouldn’t be able to come.

Wrong.

Didn’t I read somewhere that the # of kids that should come to a birthday party should equal the # of years they’re turning?  If that’s the case, S is turning 16.  And, if you count the parents that came, she’s 39.

Don’t get me wrong, I was all for having a fun party for my baby girl.  But, 39 people?  16 kids under the age of 5?  And to top it all off, the inadvertent pressure J put on me by making comments like “Well, we’re new to the school, we want to make sure this is a good party” and “This will leave a lasting first impression on people” and I was ready to keel over with the overwhelming and unsuspecting responsibility I had of making sure this was THE. BEST. 3. YEAR. OLD. PARTY. EVER.

(Sorry for throwing you under the bus, J.  I know you didn’t mean any of it…and you probably weren’t even aware of what were saying.  But, you knew this day would come on this blog, right?  Wherein I heave that stinkin heavy bus right on over to ya? I love you!)

And then my salvation came in the form of this FABULOUS blog post by Angella over at The Bad Moms Club.

And all was right in the world again.  I did NOT need to throw a 3yo version of a My Super Sweet 16.  I just needed to provide sugar, toys, and a place for little people to take those 2 things and run wild….perfect for her “Animal Safari” themed party.

So, that’s what I did.

Mission accomplished.  I’d say everyone had a pretty good time.  Especially my little princess.

2 Responses to “I’m A Bad Mom And Proud Of It”

  1. Angella said

    Yay for stress-free birthdays! Looks like she had a great birthday party. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
