MBA Mommy

Part MBA, Part MRS, Part MOM…..All ME

You Might Be

Posted by mbamommy on November 29, 2011

So, along with this blog and Facebook, I dabble in Twitter. I can’t say that I’m a big user of Twitter. I tend to go in spurts, tweeting a lot for a week or so and then falling back on it. Honestly, with everything else I try to keep up with I just don’t have the time or inclination.

But there’s been a shift recently. A few weeks ago someone started the hashtag #youmightbeanautismparentif and I somehow got wind of it. And then, all of a sudden, my Facebook updates dropped off, checking my email dropped off and I found myself reading other parent’s tweets throughout the day. And tweeting like crazy myself.

Some of my favorites are:

@red_ambert #youmightbeanautismparentif helping another autism parent means just listening because you understand what they are going through.

@Jasonoldfield #youmightbeanautismparentif you have a therapy room as a living room

@diaryofamom #YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf the next person who tells you that God doesn’t give you more than you can handle might want to duck.

@trydefyinggrav #YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf you ignore the judging eyes of others and instead seek out the knowing nods of “us too”.

@helenhamill #youmightbeanautismparentif you wouldn’t change your child for the world- but want often to change the World for your child!

@KristinMacchi #YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf you’ve thought about including your ABA therapist in your family holiday photo.

@trydefyinggrav #YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf you are a first responder, teacher, therapist, event planner & financial planner rolled into one.

@DrKyle #YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf your child tells a lie and instead of getting mad you think, “Great! We’ve finally hit that dev. milestone!”

@ghkcole #youmightbeanautismparentif you prep to watch parenthood by getting a box of tissues

@robsavva#youmightbeanautismparentif you have to work out if they are being naughty or autie.

@hollyrpeete #youmightbeanautismparentif you are amazed at how much more compassionate kids can be than their parents #autism@HollyRod4kids

And a few I’ve posted myself:

@mbamrsmom #YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf you love that there’s more awareness for #autism #aspergers but hate that it’s because of more diagnoses.

@mbamrsmom #YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf scenes from next week’s #parenthood where Max goes missing terrifies you.

@mbamrsmom #YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf ur friend’s offhand comments abt their kid lining up their toys and not looking ppl in the eye makes you pause.

@mbamrsmom #YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf Dr. Temple Grandin is your hero

@mbamrsmom #YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf you know what a puzzle piece really means

@mbamrsmom #YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf you know what Steve Jobs, Albert Einstein and Bill Gates all have in common

@mbamrsmom #YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf a staycation is more relaxing than a vacation

@mbamrsmom #YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf weighted vests are a piece of everyday clothing not just for a workout

I’ve thought a lot about this list since I discovered it. I’ve read things that have made me laugh, made me cry and made me cringe. Some have made me think “Wow, them too!” and others have reminded me that it could be much much worse. I’m surprised by how many people are out there raising their voices and how much understanding and acceptance they have. I can imagine these other parents reading along with my same half smile on their faces and tears in their eyes.

What I find most striking is the sense that everyone has a love/hate relationship with this Twitter feed. We all seem to be saddened by the fact that it’s been created. No one chose to be in this club. No one truly wants to be involved. But, there is a need. And we’re all thankful as hell it’s been created. It feels like a collective sigh of relief to be able to take a step back from our day to day lives and find the humor in it. To laugh at the bittersweet-ness of it all.

So, go onto Twitter and do a search for #youmightbeanautismparentif.  You may be surprised at what you find.

2 Responses to “You Might Be”

  1. Karen said

    All I can say is…awesome post! This is my first time commenting, but I do read your posts. Thanks for the support, I think as Autism Parents, posts like this keep us going!!!!

    I twitter too, just in spurts.
    http://twitter.com/#!/BluPigeonC, You are more than welcome to follow. 🙂

    Thank you!

  2. Sorry it has taken me so long to get over here. Shortly after the hashtag started, my son had to go into the hospital. He’s ok, but he has regressed since being sick and I’m in survival mode.

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this hashtag. I love the ending, and I am glad that #youmightbeanautismparentif has given you support. I know it has for me!

Leave a Reply

 
