MBA Mommy

Part MBA, Part MRS, Part MOM…..All ME

From Couchfit to Crossfit

Posted by mbamommy on August 2, 2012

A novices’ backlash to pullups and cleans.

I said I’d do it.

I finally joined my local Crossfit box and I’m getting my a$$ kicked almost every day. It’s been a month. Well, technically, it’s been 2 weeks of skills training class (or, what I like to call “learning how to get your a$$ handed to you without getting injured”) and almost 3 weeks of regular classes.

This is absolutely the hardest thing I’ve done (physically) in my life. I’m intimidated and in awe of the women that workout there. I am almost twice as slow as the fastest women there. I come in close to last every day. I get lapped. My hands are torn and my body is sore in places I didn’t know could get sore. And I keep going back for more.

I love it.

I love it because it’s such an intense physical challenge. I love it because at the end of the workout and I’ve had a chance to catch my breath, a peace comes over me that lasts throughout the day. I’m happy, calm and content (I think it’s the endorphins). I love it because even though I’m one of the last to finish, my fellow crossfitters cheer me on and stick around until everyone’s done. I love it because one of the ladies that works out there has a tattoo that says “Strength is Beauty”.

I’m never going to be one of those stick figures you see in the magazines. Not with my natural build. My Dad told me once that I had “football shoulders”. My Mom told me that I have “birthing hips”. Sweet, right? Well, I forgive them for unknowingly feeding into my insecurities about my physical attributes. Because, they’re right. I’ve got shoulders and hips. Not much I can do about that, right? So, if I’m built to be strong, why shouldn’t I do my damnedest to fulfill that genetic predisposition?

I titled this post, “From Couchfit to Crossfit”. And, it’s true. I’d say that, historically, I’ve been “couchfit”. I’m not obese but I could stand to tone some things up and lose some fat. I can run/walk a mile but it’s not very fast. I go to the gym and get on the elliptical for an hour but never push myself that hard. I can do headstands in yoga, but not without the help of the wall. I lift weights and you can see some definition in my arms and legs but not much. I’m ‘couchfit’. I don’t look terrible in clothes but I certainly avoid wearing a bathing suit when possible.

Not anymore. I’m committed. I want to be strong. I want to be fit. I want to be crossfit.

2 Responses to “From Couchfit to Crossfit”

  1. Jess Alter said

    Love this! The endorphins definitely make everything seem right, or at least manageable, in the world. Great work! Keep it up because one day you won’t be the slowest and you’ll be encouraging the newbies.

Leave a Reply

 
