MBA Mommy

Part MBA, Part MRS, Part MOM…..All ME

Colorado

Posted by mbamommy on August 14, 2012

It’s been a rough summer around here. From the wildfires across the Front Range to the police shooting in City Park to the Aurora Theater shooting, I’m starting to look forward to a new season and get this one behind us.

I know the theater shooting has been discussed, dissected and debated already. But, I feel like I need to voice something myself.

I don’t get it. Truth be told, I don’t get a lot of things. I don’t get how someone could do that. I don’t get how it could happen here, in a place where people choose to move to. And I don’t get how it’s happened again. I was living in Aspen when Columbine occurred. I remember the dulling shock of watching the news. I remember the horror I felt. I remember being terrified for friends who lived near there. I remember thinking “How?” and “Why”? And I hate that I felt all that again a couple weeks ago.

But, what I don’t get most is the absolute (in my opinion) wrong reaction people seem to be having.

I read an article about how after the shooting, gun applications in Colorado increasing by 40%.

40%?!?

And then I read an article about a guy who was arrested for carrying a holstered weapon into a movie theater. No, he didn’t break the law, he had a license for that fire arm. Fine. But, his rationale for carrying it was that if found in a terrible situation, he can and will reduce casualties with counter fire.

Counter fire.

Reduce casualties by shooting more.

W.T.F.

I don’t get it. I don’t get how SO many people don’t see that two wrongs don’t make a right. That unless you’re going to escalate things to the point of everyone walking around with an atomic bomb in their pockets; thereby essentially disarming everyone, you’re not making the world a safer place by adding more fire power to it. Russia and America escalated things to that point in the Cold War. And, they came to a standstill because neither one was going to be the first to pull the trigger. Because no one was going to win. The entire world would have been blown to high heaven.

But I don’t think that would work on a micro level. You’d get two hot shots walking around with pocket a-bombs and someone inevitably would flip the switch.

I think a better solution is to outlaw guns 100%. That’s the only way you’re going to guarantee that no one’s going to get shot. No guns. No chance of shooting them.

I get why people use guns to hunt for animals that they plan to feed their family with. I personally could never do it, but I get that. And, I get the desire to have a gun if you’re living in the middle of bear/lion/tiger infested woods. Again, I personally couldn’t do it, but I get it.

What I don’t get is how someone living in the middle of a large city is allowed to amass a collection of semi-automatic weapons. And I don’t get how we got to the point where someone felt the need to arm himself to go to a movie.

And I’m mad. I’m mad that this a$$hole has made me think twice about taking my kids to see their first movie in a theater. I’m pissed off that he’s made me feel that terror again. I’m furious that I had to think about what I would say to my 5yo and my 3yo if they came asking questions. I’m sad that some of the trust I felt has been taken away.

*sigh*

My heart aches for Colorado this summer.

Leave a Reply

 
